Posted by: Rachel | August 15, 2011

Key Lime Pie

Most of the desserts I post here are best described with the words rich, moist, dense and chocolate.  This most recent baking adventure does not meet any of this criteria.

pie filling

Photo by the Homemade Chocolatier

Tangy, cool, simple, and whipped are the words that come to mind when describing this key lime pie.  Not only was it super simple but also a perfect summer time treat- minimal baking is required and the pie is a cool finale for a hot evening.

I made this pie for a coworker as a thank you for letting some friends (including me) stay over after a late night on the town.  I asked him what his favorite dessert was and he said, “Key lime pie.”

Uh oh.  Pie crusts are pushing the limits of my baking skills.  Graham cracker or pastry crust, both test my patience.

silly crust

Photo by the Homemade Chocolatier

I prodded a little bit more.  “Anything else?  Any other desserts that you like?”

I was hoping for something chocolate.  Something in my comfort zone.  He pretty much blasted this dessert to the parking lot.  “Key lime pie.”

Is there a difference between key limes and limes?  Was I going to have to squeeze key limes by hand?  Have you seen how small those things are?!?

Yes.

After searching the internet for key lime bars, I went to the store and found an enticingly simple recipe for key lime pie- on the back of a Nellie and Joe’s bottle of key lime juice.

You may think I cheated.  Cut corners.  Stacked the deck.

filling in the pie

Photo by the Homemade Chocolatier

Whatever.  This pie was delicious.  And my coworker “dominated it.”  Chyeah boy!

Key Lime Pie

(Betty Crocker) Crust Ingredients:

1/3 cup butter

1/4 cup sugar

1 1/4 cup crushed Graham crackers (18 crackers or one package)

Directions:

Melt butter, then stir in sugar.  Add crushed crackers.  Combine well.  Press into bottom of 9″ pie plate and attempt to spread evenly up the sides.  Chill for 1 hour or until firm.

*The book also says you can bake the crust to make firm, but I wouldn’t recommend it.  I did and then baked the pie in the crust and ended up with extra crispy sides.  Always a personal preference though.

Pie Filling Ingredients:

9″ graham cracker crust

14 oz. can sweetened condensed milk

3 egg yolks

1/2 cup Nellie and Joe’s Key West Lime juice

Directions:

Combine milk, egg yolks and lime juice.  Blend until smooth.  Pour filling into shell and bake at 350 degrees Fahrenheit for 15 min.  Mine baked for about 18 min.

Allow to stand 10 min. before refrigerating.  Refrigerate for 5 hours or overnight.

Responses

  1. Great photos Makes me want to get a piece of Key Lime right now!


Leave a Reply

Categories

