Posted by: Rachel | May 4, 2011

Mocha Cupcakes with White Chocolate Frosting

This is a recipe that makes me want a sous chef.  Someone to know where the ingredients are measure ingredients, keep me focused and read all 428 steps and the entire set of instructions all the way to the end BEFORE starting the project.  I’m only one person; I have difficulty doing everything myself!

I dirtied both sets of my mom’s hand mixers, 3 bowls, a plate, 2 spatulas, 3 muffin tins, a ladle, 3 measuring cups and countless forks and spoons to make this recipe come to fruition.  I became Arachnid with my cables and power cords crossed all over the whole 8×9 foot kitchen.  My sister called as I was spooning the batter (for some reason I expected it to be thicker than gruel) into the muffin tins and I almost pulled the utensil drawer out of the counter.  Sous chef should play secretary, too.

bad picture of a good cupcake

Phone picture by the Homemade Chocolatier

But the mess I made is beside the point. The creator of these cupcakes, Annie, really knows what she’s talking about.  Some of her instructions, such as “mix only until incorporated” or “just until stiff peaks form” are exactly right.  Because I didn’t really change her recipe, I’ll send you to her page for the instructions.

Two notes for my recipe:

1) I made forty cupcakes

2) My icing was liquid; the chocolate and cream didn’t emulsify.  So after chilling for two hours, I added about 3 cups of powdered sugar.  Problem solved.

All my taste testers (those that attended my brother-in-law’s birthday dinner) thought the cupcakes were very good.  The birthday boy liked these and I was especially flattered by the fact that one of the babies (three years old) ate the entire cupcake, after her mom told me she would only eat the icing.  Mission accomplished.

Leave a Reply

Categories

