Posted by: Rachel | April 28, 2011

Flour-less (and butter-less) Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Longest post title, smallest cookies…

a tray of little cookies

Photo by the Homemade Chocolatier

I wonder sometimes if my roommates actually like me.  I was up at 8 yesterday morning, baking these cookies.  Me hogging the kitchen is a common occurrence , forcing our kitchen ballet to the next level of extravagance.  We’ve all gotten better at this dance- you know, the one where you side-step, sashay and promenade around each other to reach the pots, the refrigerator and the food cabinet(s) I conveniently barricade.

But there’s a slim chance they might like me.  Waking up to chocolate chip cookies isn’t bad news and they can lick the mixing bowl or beaters and I try to leave them some of whatever I made.  If I was your roommate, would you mind?

This morning, “I’m sorry for scraping pans and pounding ingredients three hours before your alarm and five+ hours before you had to be in class” will be in the form of little peanut butter chocolate chip cookies.

ingredients

Photo by the Homemade Chocolatier

Recipe adapted from Divine Baking and the Craving Chronicles

Flourless Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients:

1 cup peanut butter (I used crunchy, but smooth may actually work better)

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1 egg

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp vanilla

*(in retrospect, 1/2 tsp cinnamon would’ve been really good here!)

1 cup chocolate chips

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

Mix everything but chocolate chips with a fork.  Incorporate sugars and make sure there aren’t any clumps.

Add chocolate chips and mix.  Scoop by tablespoons onto ungreased cookie sheet and bake for 10-11 minutes or until tops are a slight golden color.

Allow to cool for 3-4 minutes on the cookie sheet then carefully remove them to a cooling rack.

I ended up with about 30 small cookies.  There are no pictures of the final product because I took them to work where they were devoured.

Responses

  1. Me and my roommates do that dance too its quite an art haha. And this recipe sounds so good! and is perfect timing bc I just got a jar of PB that I don’t really like very much and want to get rid of it fast 🙂

  2. I keep seeing this recipe with baking soda included. Did your cookies rise much compared to mine? lol

    http://irishwishesarespecial.blogspot.com/2011/05/happiness-is.html

    *wonders should I have added the soda*

    Taste amazing though

  3. hi sinead! i didn’t think that my cookies rose so much as they didn’t fall or spread out. they retained their shape and stayed nice and tall. hope that answers your question!


Leave a Reply

Categories

