Posted by: Rachel | April 22, 2011

(Wo)Man Cannot Live on Bread(Pudding) Alone

Man cannot live on bread (pudding) alone, but I will certainly try!

I didn’t think I was much of a bread pudding fan until I had this.  The white chocolate and cinnamon culminate into ecstasy.  Really.

There is no tantalizing picture of bread pudding on a fork, or white chocolate oozing off a piece of steaming bread because I simply could not let this sit long enough to photograph.  Each time, the pudding on the plate/fork disappeared pre-photo.  How does this keep happening!  Therefore, the photos are a little bland.

Bread pudding before going into the oven

Pre-baking. Photo by the Homemade Chocolatier

My grandmother, Granny, made this for the family this past Christmas.  The hot icing dripping down warm, gooey, sugar-soaked bread made me understand why so many people consider this comfort food.

I got the recipe that night and somehow the paper was lost when I went back to school.  So I emailed her and asked for the recipe again.  I could not wait to try out some new ideas I had; but when time came to make this, I couldn’t change anything.

This recipe is easily halved.  If you’re not baking for a crowd, I would recommend that because, like me, you may end up eating the entire pan by yourself.

You’ve been warned.

bread pudding after baking

Post baking. I'm ready to dive in. Photo by the Homemade Chocolatier

White Chocolate Bread Pudding

Ingredients:

16 hot dog buns or slices of white bread, torn into pieces.

3 eggs

1 stick butter (melted)

2 cups sugar

1 tsp vanilla

16 oz milk (Granny says whole milk, but all I had was skim)

8 oz whipping cream

8 oz evaporated milk (NOT sweetened condensed!)

cinnamon

(icing):

1/2 bag white chocolate chips

1 cup powdered sugar

1 stick melted butter

1/2 tsp vanilla

2 tbsp water

(Even as I type this, I’m salivating.  Is that normal?)

Directions: (verbatim from Granny)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

Spray 13×9 glass dish with Pam.  Place bread in dish.  Mix all ingredients (not the icing ingredients or cinnamon) together and pour over bread.  Cover with cinnamon.

Bake at 350 for 1 hour.

For the icing:

Melt chocolate.  Then add the rest of the icing ingredients, mixing well.  Pour over top of cooked bread pudding.

Note from Granny:

“I wait until pudding is almost done, do the icing and drizzle it over.  Also, I have had to bake pudding maybe 5 min. or so longer.  Only sometimes.”  (love her).

I love having amazing cooks in the family.  This recipe is a keeper!

Leave a Reply

Categories

