Posted by: Rachel | April 16, 2011

Oreo Cheesecake Cupcakes

Let’s be honest; there’s no way I could eat all these delicious recipes myself.  Ok, more honestly- I probably could.  But, I don’t.  Some of these treats go to very deserving friends, family members, complete strangers…

But this delicious idea is for a few of my friends that have done numerous favors for me.  We train together, hang out together, travel together, and do other crazy college things together.  So as a repayment plan/thank  you for all their help, I like to bake for them.

YUM!

Photo by the Homemade Chocolatier

When I told one of the friends I was going to be baking again, I asked if any particular dessert was preferred.  The response was, “cheesecake.”

Hm.  I can find something to do with that.  So to make sure I fit the perameters of the blog (and my own selfish whims) I double-checked: “How about oreos in the cheesecake?”

The response:  “Go for it!  I like to be adventoury”

Thank  you, T9/auto correct, you lovely cell phone application, that thrives on messing up words and making fools of us all.  But no bother, I understood (I hope).

This recipe comes from Framed Cooks.  She used oreos as her bottom layer chocolate cookies.  I used Publix brand.  I have to admit, though, I think this would’ve tasted better with oreos.

Cheesecake and Cookie layer detail

Photo by the Homemade Chocolatier

Oreo Cupcakes

Ingredients:

14 whole oreo/generic chocolate cookie with cream cookies

8 crushed cookies

16 oz cream cheese (I used one regular block, one neufchatel block)

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup sour cream

2 large eggs, beaten

1 tsp vanilla extract

dash of salt

Directions:

Preheat oven to 275 degrees F.  Place muffin tins in the cupcake container.  Place a whole cookie in the bottom of each muffin tin.

Whip cream cheese until smooth.  Add sugar and whip again until smooth.  Add vanilla and eggs, beat until smooth.  Add sour cream and salt (enough to bring out the sweet taste) and beat until mixed through.  Add crushed cookies and stir to combine.

Pour the cheesecake over the whole cookies, filling the cups to about 3/4 full.  These won’t rise, so if you want full cups, fill ’em up.  Bake for 30 min or until filling doesn’t jiggle and is set.  **The original recipe said 22 minutes, but mine took 30+ minutes.  To be safe, check at 20, 25, 30 minutes until done.

Remove cupcakes from the cupcake baking container (I’m sure there’s a more specific word for this) and allow them to cool on a wire rack, or just stick them in the fridge.  Allow these to cool completely before serving.  Lukewarm cheesecake is not appetizing.

I accidentally dropped these guys while they were still soft.

Don't worry, the ugly ones still taste good. Photo by the Homemade Chocolatier

Responses

  1. Rachel I’m making a list of recipes I have to make once I have time and money. thank you haha

    • so glad to inspire you, holly! 🙂 let me know how your baking goes.


Leave a Reply

Categories

