Posted by: Rachel | April 7, 2011

Chocolate Pancakes for 1

Pancakes are a comfort food.  As previously stated, my mom made pancakes for us all the time as children.  I looked forward to Monday mornings so that I could eat some buttermilk pancakes and stick my fingers in the batter (my mom still gets really irritated when I do this).

These aren’t my mom’s buttermilk pancakes, but I make them often when I’m away at school.  The original version calls for cottage cheese, but I’ve found that adding enough milk to make the oats soft works fine.  Both recipes work well for me.

pancakes with syrup

Blurry Photo by the Homemade Chocolatier's phone

*Also, if the liquid is added the night before and the oats are stirred in the morning, there is less of an oat-y texture and the pancakes feel more smooth.

Right now, things are difficult: family, homework and sports make me want to sit in my closet and cry are stressing me out.  Food isn’t supposed to be used as medicine or as a coping mechanism.  But a little bite of comfort goes a long way in easing anxiety.

So, a little bit of pancake bliss with sneaky fiber for a rough morning.  Try it and tell me your heart doesn’t feel better.

Chocolate Pancakes for 1

Ingredients:

1/2 cup oatmeal

enough milk to soften the oats- *see above note

1 egg white

pinch of sugar

tiny dash of salt

Oats and spices

Photo by the Homemade Chocolatier

to taste:

cinnamon

cocoa powder

nutmeg

toppings

Directions (seems extensive but actually very simple):

Mix the oats and milk until oats are soft (either the night before or you can let them sit for a few minutes to get acquainted with each other in the morning).  Add the egg white.  Add spices to taste.  Watch your cocoa powder use; excessive additions will make these bitter quickly.

Batter with chocolate chips

Photo by the Homemade Chocolatier

Incorporate all ingredients.  Grease your griddle and turn it on.  When the water sizzles when you sprinkle it on the griddle, the griddle is hot and ready for pancakes.

Drop pancakes on the griddle and add toppings of your choice- this morning, I did chocolate chips and pecans.  But bananas and chocolate chips are great too.

Flip pancakes when the bottom edges begin to darken and cook through.

Enjoy some piece of mind and an inspirational video with your breakfast.  Whatever you face, know you’re stronger than you think.  You can surprise yourself.

Responses

  1. Oh man I need someone to make me these for me right now.


Leave a Reply

Categories

