Posted by: Rachel | March 30, 2011

I got my satisfaction!

Do you ever have those days where you’re craving something particular in the food department?  Not so much the “it’s hot outside, I want lemonade” but the “my body must have chocolate or someone’s bird house will be vandalized!”  Ok, that’s extreme, but you get the idea.

Well, today I had two of those.  For dinner, I wanted seafood/protein and (for days now) I have wanted to make an easy eclair that I made when I was a sophomore in college.  Hello, old times.

So for dinner, to satiate that seafood/protein craving, I went to Genghis Grill with friend and food blogger, Jamie.  We got to catch up finally; she’s a busy girl these days!

So after a big bowl of shrimp, fish, scallops, broccoli, water chestnuts, rice and other things I don’t remember, I felt much better.  Big sigh of satisfaction.

And for that eclair, Ginny (another foodie) saved the day, providing me with the recipe to calm the dessert demanding seeking will in my stomach.

Funny timing: I had searched for this recipe last week, to no avail.  Literally days later, Ginny sent me the link.  Thank goodness!

pumpkin interior

Photo by the Homemade Chocolatier

She said her grandmother has a dessert similar to this one that is an old family secret.  And this does indeed look delicious.  But I had two spare packets of pumpkin pudding and an antipathy for unnecessary cool whip so I developed this recipe.

There is a little tangy taste rather than overwhelming sweet because of the yogurt, but I didn’t think it detracted from the overall goodness.

Easy Pumpkin Eclair

Ingredients:

2 small packages of pumpkin pudding*

3 cups of milk

1 (6 oz.) plain yogurt

1 (6 oz.) vanilla yogurt

1 box of chocolate graham crackers*

handful(s) of chocolate chips (optional, but that’s what happens when I don’t feel like there’s enough chocolate in the recipe)

Directions:

Spread one layer of graham cracker on the bottom of a baking dish.  The recipe calls for a 13×9, but I made mine in an 8×8 or 9×9 (something small and square).

Mix the puddings, milk and yogurts with a hand mixer for 2-3 minutes or until thick.

Spread half of pudding mixture over the graham crackers and sprinkle with chocolate chips, if desired.

*This could go any which way- regular graham crackers, vanilla pudding, cinnamon graham crackers, caramel pudding, chocolate pudding, you get the idea.

Graham cracker layering

Photo by the Homemade Chocolatier

Cover with graham crackers, repeat pudding layer, then graham crackers.  Refrigerate.

There is also a recipe for chocolate topping, but from previous experience, this makes the cake much more difficult to cut.  I left the topping off and didn’t miss it.

Ah.  Big, happy, full-belly sigh.

And a little clip of positive affirmation if you’re feeling down.

 

Responses

  1. Awesome post. Love it. And glad the pumpkin eclaire worked out! 🙂

  2. I like all the options. It would be fun to try with children and let them
    create it to their own liking.


Leave a Reply

Categories

