Posted by: Rachel | February 22, 2011

Chocolate Chip Taste Test

While perusing my daily vice (food blogs), I came across an article that I found very interesting.  Serious Eats, a cyber mecca for everything foodie, did a blind taste test of 10 different brands of chocolate chips.

I feel this is important because Ina Garten, one of my favorite people on Food Network and the creator of Outrageous Brownies, always reminds her audience to use the best chocolate they can find.  She likes to say that with chocolate, the old adage is true: you get what you pay for.

Thankfully, Serious Eats is helping take out some of the guess work and tasted many different options.  Trader Joe’s chips were voted the best supermarket chip and Scharffen Berger was the best fancy pants chip.  I’ve never even seen this brand in the store so I thought that superlative was fitting.  According to the article, the reviewers were also not fond of the chocolate minis.  If you can’t hardly taste the chocolate, what good is it?

Chocolate chip cookies

I wish this was my photo...

 

For the rest of the results, read “Taste Test: The Best Chocolate Chips for Chocolate Chip Cookies.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

