Posted by: Rachel | February 20, 2011

I Forgot the Food Coloring: Black Velvet Pancakes

My former roommate, Jamie, sent me the Red Velvet Pancake recipe on facebook with this caption: “WHAT WHAAAAAT!?”  She knows me too well.

The stack

Photo by the Homemade Chocolatier

First: I love pancakes.  When I lived at home, my mom fixed buttermilk pancakes from scratch every Monday morning.  All four children still relish those mornings and those pancakes.

Second: I love red velvet cake.  Every year for my birthday, my mom makes me a red velvet cake with cream cheese icing, all from scratch.  I can’t remember a birthday without one of those cakes.  She even made them for me in college!  Others are lucky to get a sliver of red velvet cake; I instantly turn into the grinch and do not want to share.  Even little Cindy Lou Who wouldn’t be able to pry a piece of cake from my hands.

spoon with batter sprinkled with pecans

Photo by the Homemade Chocolatier

 

I didn’t have any food coloring in the pantry but literally could NOT wait to make these.  The color looks a little off but doesn’t diminish the scrumptious flavors and chocolate.

Thank you, Jamie, for the inspiration and thank you, Mom, for years of pancakes and red velvet cake.  These two masterpieces have just culminated into one fantastic meal.

Red Velvet Pancakes

Ingredients:

1 cup flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
½ teaspoon baking soda
½ teaspoon salt
3 tablespoons sugar
2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
1 large egg
¾ cup buttermilk
¼ cup sour cream *(I did half sour cream, half cottage cheese- if you don’t have all the ingredients, improvise)
1 teaspoon red food coloring *(You already know what happened here)
2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Directions:

Combine all dry ingredients in a large bowl and set aside. In a separate bowl, whisk together the egg, buttermilk, sour cream, food coloring and vanilla. I whisked a little longer to beat out some of the cottage cheese clumps.

wet and dry ingredients

Photo by the Homemade Chocolatier

Add wet ingredients to dry, and mix just until combined.

Pour about 1/3 cup onto medium/high griddle and lightly brown on both sides.  When the pancakes spring back after they’ve been flipped, they’re ready to come off the griddle.

I spruced this up a little bit with some pecans in the batter.  As the boys from south Georgia would say, “It’s straight fire” (which means it’s really really good).

empty bowl!

Photo by the Homemade Chocolatier

This could feed one extremely hungry person (happened to be me this time) or two kind-of hungry people.

Responses

  1. HOORAY! woulda loved to have licked the bowl.


Leave a Reply

Categories

