Posted by: Rachel | February 10, 2011

Double Chocolate Bagels

Sometimes, a break from sweets is good.  Refreshing.  A break is a good reminder for when you take that next bite of cake and remember why you love it.  For this reason, I made double chocolate bagels.

All shapes and sizes of bagels

Photo by the Homemade Chocolatier

 

These bagels allowed me to (metaphorically, of course) have my cake and eat it, too.  There is plenty of chocolate in this recipe, but the taste is not overly sweet.  In fact, I thought they tasted a little bit flour-y for a bagel.  This was my first try at home, so if you have any suggestions for reducing the flour taste or what I should have done differently, please give me some suggestions.  I’m always open for ideas.

For a quick crash course in bagel making, I referred to Kath and her husband, Matt.  They intend to open a Great Harvest bakery and I feel that they are a great authority on fresh bread.

I used a recipe from a cooking course in undergrad and added a few of my own ideas to make it chocolate.  I also had no idea how to mix in chocolate chips, so I ended up just rolling them inside.  A lot of them unrolled during boiling so I will have to find a new way to incorporate the chips.  Ideas?

Double Chocolate Bagels

Ingredients:

1 package of active dry yeast

1/2 c lukewarm water

1 3/4 cups all purpose flour

1/4 c cocoa powder

3/4 tsp salt

1 heaping tbsp sugar

1 tbsp vegetable oil

1 egg, lightly beaten

1 quart boiling water (plus 1 tbsp sugar in the water)

Directions:

Soften yeast in the lukwarm water (anything above 110 degrees Fahrenheit will kill the yeast, so this should not be hot).

In a bowl, mix flour, cocoa, salt and sugar, then add yeast+water.

Blend in egg and stir to make a soft ball.

Knead vigorously for ten minutes on well-floured board or very clean floured countertop.  Add dough as necessary to keep it from sticking.

A floured work space

Photo by the Homemade Chocolatier

Let rise in a covered bowl for one hour.  A warm place with a damp cloth is the best place.

About 20 minutes before the hour is up, start boiling your water+sugar and preheat the oven to 450 degrees.  The oven may not take this long, but the water certainly will.  And it will keep you from getting antsy; who wants to wait their baking on water?!

After an hour, knead dough again until it is smooth and elastic.  Pinch off balls of dough that are two inches in diameter.  Roll between palms into ropes ~3/4 in diameter and ~six inches long.

chocolate chips encased in bagel dough

Photo by the Homemade Chocolatier

Before rolling mine out totally, I attempted to stuff chocolate chips in and then keep rolling.  See notes at the top, because this did not work well.

Pinch ends together to form a doughnut-like shape.

Drop carefully into boiling water+sugar.  With a slotted spoon, turn each bagel over when it surfaces and cook the second side for about a minute.

Arrange bagels on greased baking sheet and bake for 12 minutes on the first side, then flip them over and bake for three more.

chocolate chips bursting from the seams

This bagel split at the seams.

Now slather with some of that chocolate almond butter and eat!

Responses

  1. You are way brave, girl. I don’t know where you got that sense of adventure. I had no idea you had to boil them. Had I read that, I wouldn’t have even tried, but I’m glad you did, because they actually look like bagels! Everything bagels next time?

  2. Yup, I’d eat those.

    And everything else on your blog.

  3. My third favorite breakfast just behind fudge brownie ice cream and Hershey’s Syrup (straight, no chaser). And I second what Leslie said – pretty gutsy recipe.

  4. Wow, chocolate bagels, my kids would be over the moon with that!

  5. Wow, I might try to make a GF version of this. I’ll certainly pingback if I do!


Leave a Reply

Categories

