Posted by: Rachel | February 3, 2011

Confessions

Cue Usher’s hit: “These are my confessions, just when I thought I said all I can say…”

Background: Baking helps me relax and is a great outlet when I am stressed.  I also like to do dishes when I get stressed.  There’s something about the warm water, soap, and the noticeable difference I see in the dishes that soothes me.

Confession one: I came home to do homework, was immensely stressed out, sat down at my computer to read for an assignment, looked up a cookie recipe instead, then got up and started baking.  Uh oh.

I’ve been looking forward to making these cookies because they looked simple (the mix came in a cake box- still homemade due to a few additions, for all you sticklers).   I even mixed them by hand and didn’t wake my roommate up in the next room.  Perfect plan.

I premeditated the baking by buying the mix and the mint chips.  Oops.  And now I find myself here.

dough that survived the pre-baking eating

Baking and cookie eating=done.  Homework= A distant thought.

Confession two: I made this mix purely for the batter.  I know, I know!  In this salmonella-scared world, eating anything with raw egg is a big no-no.  But I did it anyway.  Cookies are difficult for me because they are either too dry because I bake them to death or they’re never done.  To solve that problem, I enjoy the cookie batter.

Without further ado, here are Megan’s Mint Chip Chocolate Cookies.

Chocolate Cookies with Mint Chocolate Chips
1 chocolate cake mix
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/3 c oil
2 eggs
1 cup mint chips (Megan suggests Andes peppermint pieces, but I used Nestle’s Chocolate and Mint chips)

all ingredients in the bowl.  told you it was simple

Preheat oven to 375.
Mix together cake mix, sugar, oil and eggs. Stir in chips. Drop dough balls onto greased cookie sheet. Bake 8-10 minutes. Remove from pan and cool.

Look at that gooey center.

Ooey and gooey, just the way i like it!

And now, onto my homework.

Responses

  1. Yum! Love that you included lines from Usher! And, I love to wash dishes, too (I’m sure you’re shocked, right? haha) Your blog looks great! Keep it up! 🙂

  2. Oh man, these look tasty-licious! And I agree with the baking-as-a-stress-reliever notion. Not so much with the dishes-washing. 😉

    Did you see the info circulating about copying girl scout cookies? Taylor talks about it in her blog, http://no-grain-no-pain.com/ and the link is below. Thin mints at home, year round? Dangerous!

    http://shine.yahoo.com/channel/food/girl-scout-cookies-year-round-9-copycat-recipes-youll-love-2438912/#photoViewer=1

  3. Lucky roomate… there’s nothing better than waking up to the smell of cookies in the oven…

    These ones look great!

  4. These look delicious! I think this recipe may be easy enough to give it a try! Great post and love the layout!

  5. These look cute- if food can look cute. I love chocolate and mint!!!! Can’t wait to try this one out. And it’s easy too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

