Posted by: Rachel | February 2, 2011

National Nutella Day: An Excuse for Indulgence (not that I needed one)

To celebrate National Nutella Day, which is February 5th, I wanted to make something delicious.  Different.  Nutella-y.  Duh.

After perusing my cookbooks, I decided nutella must be a relatively new phenomenon; there were no nutella recipes.  Looking back, I could have transformed recipes and made my own, but I wanted something destined to be a hit that I could share.

That’s when I found the nutella fudge.

Both the Cookin’ Canuck and Cake Duchess made this “evil but excellent” (according to one of my professors) chocolate nutella fudge with sea salt.  If both bloggers had tried this recipe and it was deemed delicious by both, I decided I could do it.  Also, both credited Giada de Laurentis on the Food Network with the original creation.  I’m a big fan of hers so that made me more excited to make this.

I made the variation by the Cake Duchess which added peanut butter and I didn’t have any sea salt so used regular kosher salt.  Neither of these adjustments diminished the taste or appeal of this easy fudge.

Chocolate Nutella Peanut Butter Fudge

Ingredients:

Butter, for greasing pan

8 oz. bittersweet chocolate

1 (14 oz.) can sweetened condensed milk

1 teaspoon vanilla

3 tablespoons creamy peanut butter

3 tablespoons butter

1 cup Nutella

Directions:

Grease bottom and sides of an 8×8 inch baking pan with butter.  Line the pan with parchment or wax paper, leaving extra on the sides (to help pull the fudge out later).

pan with paper

In a medium galss or stainless steel bowl, stir together sweetened condensed milk, vanilla, chocolate, nutella and butter.

Form a double boiler by setting the bowl on a medium pot of gently simmering water.  The water should be low enough so that it does not touch the water.  Stir until the chocolate is melted and the mixture is smooth.

Pour mixture into the pan and spread the top smooth.  Sprinkle with sea salt.  Refrigerate until firm or at least two hours.  I let mine set overnight just to be sure.

To remove fudge, run a knife under hot water, dry it off and run it around the edges of the pan to loosen the fudge.  Using extra paper on the sides, lift fudge from pan and remove paper.  Cut to desired size (recommended is 3/4 inch pieces).

Store in the refrigerator in an airtight container or wrapped in plastic or foil.

Makes about 50 3/4 inch squares.

fudge- you can even see the salt!

Marvelous, darling.  Marvelous.

Responses

  1. This was soooo good! Thanks for the sample 🙂

  2. I’m going to try this over the weekend. First time baking (real baking, not box baking) in a long time, first time with fudge, first time cooking with Nutella.
    I don’t know if I’ll have the self control to let it set overnight without eating any of it, but we’ll see.


Leave a Reply

Categories

