Posted by: Rachel | August 31, 2011

Cinnamon Role Pancakes

A few weeks ago, my brother-in-law, Ian, sent me an email with a link to Recipegirl’s cinnamon roll pancakes.

Oh, sinful heavens of goodness! (Quite the oxymoron, but I think you know what I’m talking about.)

bottom of a cooked pancake

Photo by the Homemade Chocolatier

My sister and Ian came over the morning before I left for school and joined forces with my youngest brother and me to make this delicious “twist on a good thing.”

Instead of regular milk (as suggested by Recipegirl), we used buttermilk, which added a bit of extra tang to the batter and the finished product.

swirled pancakes on the griddle

Photo by the Homemade Chocolatier

These pancakes also were a bit more cakey and fluffy than my mom’s usual buttermilk type because of the use of two eggs instead of one.

Because we didn’t change the recipe and tried to adhere to the original, I’d like to send you to her page for all the devilish tastiness and some great pictures.

pancake with glaze

Photo by the Homemade Chocolatier

Oh, and you might be tempted to skip the cream cheese glaze, seen above.

Don’t.  You wouldn’t skip the frosting on a cinnamon roll, would you?!

The caramelized brown sugar hardened and the pancake bottoms got a little bit sticky and the cream cheese glaze softened the tops just enough to make the crunch gentle on my tongue.

Sheer bliss.

Enjoy!

Responses

  1. mom is so sorry she missed these, they look delicious!

    • don’t worry, mom! we will definitely be making these again!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

