Posted by: Rachel | April 18, 2011

Bro-okies: Brownie Cookies or Broken Cookies?

Because this isn’t a long post, I’ll start with a silly clip.  You might not get it at first; listen again.  Sometimes being awkward is funny (for the rest of us).

There really isn’t a story behind these.  Ok, well there is a story because everything has a story.  The long version:

One day, I came home from class.  A notification popped up on my computer; Brave New Food thought I would like Bro-okies: brownie cookies.  Which I absolutely do.  So I immediately began my homework started baking.  The end.

See what happens when I get recommendations, Ginny?!  (Keep ‘em coming).

Bro-okies (adapted from the Novice Chef)

Ingredients:

1 cup of almonds (what I had on hand. Pecans or walnuts would probably be best)

1 1/2 cups powdered sugar

1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

pinch of salt

1 egg white

1 small, super ripe banana

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350.  Toast almonds on stove top or in the oven but be sure to keep an eye on them; they will burn quickly.  Just ask my mom.

Chop almonds.

Mix cocoa powder, salt and sugar.  Add chopped nuts.  Add egg white, banana and vanilla.  Mix with a fork and be sure not to overmix.

Drop by tablespoons onto a well-greased cookie sheet.  DO NOT attempt to use wax paper as a substitute?!?  (No idea why I did that, but the result was cookies stuck to paper tighter than…than…there’s nowhere good this can go.  Just know- stuck very tightly).  I ended up with lots of bits of broken cookie instead of brownie cookies.

Bake cookies for about 15 min and allow to cool for 5 before transferring to wire racks to cool completely.

Looks bad, tastes good

Photo by the Homemade Chocolatier

And I’m sorry.  There’s not a good way to make cookie/brownies with bits of nuts look appetizing.  But believe me.  They’re good.

Responses

  1. Oh man. those look soo rich and gooey. makes me want some milk without even tasting them. :)

  2. I love brownies :) I can’t wait till my roommate is done with lent so we can bake again! (she gave up sweets and I just feel like itd be evil for me to bake and fill our apartment with those wonderful smells when she can’t have any)

  3. WOW making these asap! They look so good!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

