Posted by: Rachel | March 24, 2011

Homemade Ice Cream

You will never believe this. I didn’t. Even after reading Katie’s ideas, I couldn’t fathom this concept.  Until I saw Jessica’s post.  And they are both right.

Homemade ice cream. No ice cream maker.  Vegan.  Easy.  Fast.  Delicious

Roll your eyes all you want. I’m serious. Minimal ingredients, minimal equipment, and about two minutes longer than normal ice cream.  This doesn’t really even taste like banana; the fruit serves as a great canvas for any other spices you like.

Oh, and did I mention healthy?  Tastes just as creamy and smooth as milk-based ice cream.  Just prepare to release all that doubt.  This will knock your socks off.

I made honey roasted peanut butter right before, left a little peanut butter in the processor, then processed the banana.  Ah-mazing.

Banana chunks ready with some peanut butter

Photo by the Homemade Chocolatier

*This does require a food processor, but those are easier to come by and much more applicable than ice cream makers.

Homemade Ice Cream

Ingredients:

extremely ripe, frozen banana, chunked

cinnamon

cocoa powder

nutmeg

peanut butter

any other topping you can think of!

Directions:

Put the chunks of frozen banana in the food processor.  Turn the machine on and let it process until almost smooth.  Turn the machine off and add whatever you want.  All the seasonings listed above are to taste, so you decide how much or if you like them at all.  But obviously, cocoa powder for the chocolatier.

Turn the machine back on for a few more seconds until creamy.

SO CREAMY!

Photo by the Homemade Chocolatier

If you want a super chilled dessert, throw the final product in the freezer for a few minutes.  If you can’t wait that long (I couldn’t), eat.

Confession: I bought about a pound of extra bananas just so they could get overripe and I could put them in the freezer.  Specifically for this.  Just saying.

Responses

  1. Oh, I will for sure try this one! I might not add cinnamon into it since I don’t like it.
    For more interesting and healthy recipes, check at:

    http://www.fourgreensteps.com/community/recipes

    Hope you find recipes that you like!

    • bummer you don’t like cinnamon; i put it into almost everything! thanks for the link. there is some yummy stuff on there!

  2. Looks so good!

    • You told me about this and I had my doubts. After reading the recipe I’ll have to give it a try. Especially for my ice cream loving son that lives on bananas and peanut butter.
      Also,
      I forgot about the marshmallows in the cocoa cola cake. They really do add something to the texture.
      Keep up the good work. This makes me hungry!!!

  3. Ok so I’m definitely lactose intolerant and eating ice cream makes me so sick, so I’m definitely going to give this recipe a try :) Looks delicious

  4. [...] best dessert/desert, but I swear it tastes more like soft serve ice cream than fruit.  Check out her post for more [...]

  5. [...] best dessert/desert, but I swear it tastes more like soft serve ice cream than fruit.  Check out her post for more [...]

  6. Wow…Amazing.
    Yummy….nice collection of ice cream..
    I will definitely try this ice cream – so simple and delicious!
    This looks like a great ice cream recipe to try! I have my homemade ice cream maker bucket in the freezer as I write…looking forward to more ice cream recipe ideas…thanks!
    I am also adding you to our blog roll….I were just thinking of adding you earlier today and wishing you lived in the Bay Area! Great minds think a like esp. when it comes to homemade ice-cream!
    Now this one looks yummy! I love condensed milk where I’m at; we spread it on plain white loaf and enjoy it already. Mores as homemade ice cream! Will try this one for sure
    Cowabunga Ice Cream


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

